Rice and Breads http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads Sat, 19 Apr 2014 06:56:56 +0000 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb Theplas - Fenugreek Flatbreads http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/359-theplas-fenugreek-flatbreads http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/359-theplas-fenugreek-flatbreads
Theplas - Fenugreek Flatbreads

Theplas are Gujarati flatbreads, and are similar to chapatis. The dough is made with wheatflour, often mixed with gram flour or besan, and fresh fenugreek leaves.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 24 Dec 2013 22:06:25 +0000
Vegetable Brown Basmati Biryani http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/357-vegetable-brown-basmati-biryani http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/357-vegetable-brown-basmati-biryani
Vegetable Brown Basmati Biryani


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Sun, 22 Dec 2013 22:00:36 +0000
Lemon Rice - Elemicha Sadam http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/346-lemon-rice-elemicha-sadam http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/346-lemon-rice-elemicha-sadam
Lemon Rice - Elemicha Sadam

This dish is a south Indian rice recipe.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 17 Dec 2013 19:17:33 +0000
Dum Pukht Biryani http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/342-dum-pukht-biryani http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/342-dum-pukht-biryani
Dum Pukht Biryani

There are hundreds of varieties of biryani and the dum pukht biryani is the method of cooking the dish in a sealed vessel or spherical pot made from clay or steel known as a handi.

]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Wed, 06 Nov 2013 08:46:49 +0000
Indian Fried Rice http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/182-indian-fried-rice http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/182-indian-fried-rice
11

This is a great way to spice up leftover rice by seasoning with a few spices. The whole spice cassia can be left at the side of the plate. It is only there for the flavouring.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 11 Sep 2012 08:22:38 +0000
Naan Bread http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/180-naan-bread http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/180-naan-bread
11

These days you can buy naan in the supermarket, but why not make it fresh for a dinner party? Like most Indian breads, it is best eaten warm from the oven.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 11 Sep 2012 08:11:55 +0000
Chapatis http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/179-chapatis http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/179-chapatis
11

These are quite tricky to make and many people simply can’t be bothered with all the hassle – including me! Similar to the Mexican tortilla, it’s a round pan-roasted flat bread made from wholewheat flour.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 11 Sep 2012 08:07:13 +0000
Plain Basmati Rice http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/178-plain-basmati-rice http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/178-plain-basmati-rice
11

Basmati is a small but long-grain aromatic rice with a nut-like flavour and aroma. It is always prepared on special occasions. ‘Basmati’ means fragrant and it is the most expensive rice in the world. Originating in South-East Asia, basmati has been cultivated in India and Pakistan for more than 8,000 years.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 11 Sep 2012 08:02:29 +0000
Deep Fried Bread - Pooris http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/177-deep-fried-bread-pooris http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/177-deep-fried-bread-pooris
11

Poori is fried bread that can be found in Indian fast food restaurants. It is so versatile that it can be served with practically anything, sweet or savoury.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 11 Sep 2012 07:57:34 +0000
Vegetable Pulao http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/176-vegetable-pulao http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/176-vegetable-pulao
11

Rice absorbs the flavours of any ingredient that you throw in with it so Indians make all kinds of sweet and savoury dishes with it. This vegetable pulao is served on special occasions and at dinner parties.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 11 Sep 2012 07:53:16 +0000
Kashmiri Pulao http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/175-kashmiri-pulao http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/175-kashmiri-pulao
11

Nuts and dried fruits appear to be very popular ingredients in the cuisines of Northern India. Close to the mountainous regions of the Himalayas, Kashmiris create saffron infused rice dishes as part of their main meals.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Tue, 11 Sep 2012 07:48:37 +0000
Turmeric Rice http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/163-turmeric-rice http://www.manjumalhi.com/all-recipes/rice-and-breads/163-turmeric-rice
11

While researching one of my cookbooks India with Passion, I discovered that almost every region uses turmeric either for cooking or for its medicinal properties.


]]>
manju@manjumalhi.co.uk (Manju Malhi) Rice and Breads Mon, 10 Sep 2012 21:53:05 +0000